Map of the British Isles.

[British Isles Map]
The British Isles is a geographic term for the islands of Great Britian and Ireland. Great Britian consists of England, Scotland and Wales. Ireland is currently politically split as the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland. The United Kingdom is a collective term for Great Britan and Northern Ireland. There are also a few small semi-independent islands. In the Irish sea there is the Isle of Man. Near the French coast are the Channel Islands, consisting of Guernsey, Jersey, Alderney, Herm and Sark.